Final plunge prep

CTP (countdown to plunge): 24 hours

There’s no turning back now. I officially registered my polar plunge team on Wednesday, and we were assigned a jump time of 12:45 p.m. on Saturday.

I also learned at registration that we won’t actually be jumping into Lake Michigan, but rather running down a boat launch into the freezing water. This was not the best news. I was hoping I could just close my eyes and hurl myself into the icy water in one freezing, foolish swoop. Now I’ll have to shut my brain off for at least 10 seconds and charge in, one excruciating step at a time. Plus, we’re supposed to get walloped with some snow this afternoon and tonight, meaning the air temperature tomorrow is going to be a little brisker than I was hoping.

But it’s all for a good cause (the Special Olympics), so it will be more than worth it. I’m going to try to take a waterproof video camera in with me to let you all see every ridiculous minute of the plunge. Once I defrost, I’ll be sure to post photos and videos here.

Anyone else plunging in Milwaukee tomorrow? Or have you already participated in another Special Olympics polar plunge? Any advice before I go?

This entry was posted in Outdoors and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

