House on the Rock – on the docket

The House on the Rock

Yesterday I finalized the details of my April 12 trip to the House on the Rock with its marketing manager Matt Schneider. Finally! My first Bucket List item.

The typical HOTR self-guided tour takes about two hours, but for my first visit, I’ll try to get just the highlights and leave the deeper exploring for later. I get the impression a full tour might be overwhelming, and I’m bringing my mom and 21-month-old son (neither of whom have very long attention spans) so I figure we’ll max out at about 1.5 hours. Matt says kids are welcome at HOTR – not just the school-age kind, but the little ones, too. Two sections of the museum are wheelchair- and stroller-accessible, but not section 1, which includes the Gate House, the Original House and the Infinity Room – a long passageway with 3,264 windows that juts 218 feet out over the scenic valley and 156 feet above the ground. Sections 2 and 3 feature multiple themed rooms, including Streets of Yesterday, Heritage of the Sea, the Doll House Room and Music of Yesterday and the Carousel.

I am interested to see how the collections fit within architect Alex Jordan’s structure. I have this idea in my head of the whole place being like someone’s garage or attic. Like the Smithsonian (“the nation’s attic”) of the Midwest. To be clear, I would pay to see nearly anyone’s garage or attic.

Image | This entry was posted in Historic, The House on the Rock, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to House on the Rock – on the docket

  1. ccdursina says:

    This is a great venture, you will love it please blog about it afterward! Have some fun the weather is supposed to be great!

    P.S. we invite you to stay wit us at http://www.usonianinn.com/ also on twitter @usonianinn

Share your thoughts

