Gearing up, geeking up

Kinda funny that Chelsey is also thinking about gear.  From where I sit, atop the heap of GearGeekdom, she is showing a remarkable amount of restraint.  For those who are wired like me, who already have more outdoor gear than they can actually use, this time of year poses a significant domestic challenge.  The challenge goes like this: Me: ” Packs are 20 % off at REI this weekend! ” Wifey: ” You already have three packs. What do you need another for?” Me: ” I need a bigger one.”  Wifey: ” Why?”   Me:  ” Well, not so much a bigger one, but one with a separate sleeping bag compartment.”  Wifey:  ” Why do you need that? ”  Me:  ” So I can stay more organized.”  Wifey:  ” You mean organized like how I asked you to organize the basement?”  I lose almost all of these discussions.  But between the ones she lets me win and the pre-Wifey gear that I’ve had since Boy Scouts ( think Watergate era ) I have more gear than I need.  Doesn’t stop me from pouring over the catalogs that come in the mail or checking out all the specs that are online.  ” Stove X boils a gallon of water in under a minute!!!” ” Tent Y has an external mosquito and bear repelling coating!”  I believe it all, and I want to try it all.  I’ll get almost nothing, because as I said, I have pretty much all I need.  But I snuck in a bucket list item to go camping with my grandsons.  Being 10 and 5 they don’t have much in the way of gear.  Which means they need a lot and I need to help them with their decisions…and they are the only two of my gender that my wife hasn’t figured out how to say no to.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

